The Way We Listen To Music

The way we listen to music has changed through the years.  From the invention of the phonograph by Thomas Edison in 1877 through today, many changes have taken place. RCA Victor introduced the first record player in 1906.  This was followed by the transistor radio, eight track tape players, cassette tape players, Sony Walkman, CD players and MP-3 players.  Today, we can listen to music through the internet, the TV, and other means.

evolution_of_music_lowres (1)

Just recently, the record player has gone on the market again.  It has been recreated for the current era.  This product can reach across generations from children to senior citizens.  The aging generation can identify with it from their younger years.  Children and teens can experience something from the past.  It is a win-win product. Record players are available at most electronic and department stores, as well as online.  The prices range from $68.95 to $216.92.  They are heavily promoted through advertising on websites such as Amazon.com.  Record player companies like RCA, Crosley, and SONY are appealing to the younger generation by adding a modern style and digital additions. New record players have ports where the buyer can insert modern technology, such as MP-3 players and iPhones.

The way we listen to music may have changed over the years, but our favorite songs will always stay the same!

Screen Shot 2016-01-26 at 9.27.59 AM (1)

Bibliography

amale16.weebly.com/1877-1928.htl

tecnabob.com/blog/2007/02/08/a-brief-history-of-portable-media-players/

http://www.randomhistory.com/2008/08/04_ipod.html

homepage-web.com/?5=hp&m=start

evolution-of-music

 

 

 

8 comments

  1. professorhemric · January 28, 2016

    How exactly has marketing research played a role in how we listen to music? Can you give any specifics?

    Like

    • songbirdcarolyn · January 29, 2016

      It is the marketing research that steers the sale of the music players. That is how they are put together. They are put together to draw in a certain target population. The music companies research what the population wants, and makes these products accordingly.

      Like

  2. grimbp · January 29, 2016

    Vinyl records are certainly making a come back and there is certainly an opportunity for those businesses to market the hardware and the records to play on the them. I was reading the other day that the baby boomer generation is a 4 trillion dollar market segment with the highest amount of discretionary income to spend on products and services. I bet there are many boomers willing and able to spend money on turntables and records that take them back to the good ‘ole days. I wound’t mind having one myself!

    Like

    • songbirdcarolyn · January 30, 2016

      Thank you for your message. I am one of those baby boomers. I am excited that the record players are making a comeback. It does bring back a lot of memories. My husband actually has one that belonged to his dad. It still works. Combined with modern technology, I think it will be a real winner. This should be a great marketing opportunity.

      Like

  3. oshricomartos · January 30, 2016

    This is a fantastic blog, well thought out and fantastic graphics as well as info. It is so true and so crazy how far we’ve come over the last hundred years. We are huge music people at our house, always listening to music, or my husband is playing it on his various instruments. Cant imagine where we would be if we didn’t have that outlet. Its so incredible to see how we’ve evolved.

    Like

    • songbirdcarolyn · January 30, 2016

      Thank you for your message. The way we listen to music has come a long way over the years. I am a big music lover myself. I sing and play my cornet in the church band. I always listen to music, even when I go to sleep at night. As I did my research, I could identify with a lot of the products, like the transistor radios and 8 tracks. Those came out in my younger years. We have come a long way since then. I think this would be a good marketing avenue. But I think, no matter what, music will always be around for us to enjoy. I am thankful for that. Thank you for your kind words.

      Like

  4. jashiker · January 30, 2016

    I have always enjoyed vinyl records. Something very classy about listening to music that way vs all of the technology we have at our disposal these days. I have started to see records in places like Best Buy, and Barnes Noble. I under stand it is very “hip” now to listen to records. Your blog is fantastic. I love the graphics and the layout of it.

    Like

    • songbirdcarolyn · January 31, 2016

      Thank you for your kind words. I like the old things like the record players and the cassette players. I even like the CDs, but after that it is beyond me. I know there are a lot of new things that are out these days, but there is something to say about the old things. Today’s music players are so complicated. There is even music on your phones and laptops. The record players just remind me of simpler times. But it is exciting to see them making a come back. It will be interesting to see how far it goes. I still have a lot of old records here that my husband got from his dad when he passed away. I have old Beetles records. They still sound good. I enjoyed working on this blog this week. I found a lot of interesting information. Thank you again for your message.

      Like

Leave a comment